spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: May 28
Posted: Wed, May 29, 2002, 1:51 PM ET (1751 GMT)
  • A fleet of NASA spacecraft recently jointly observed a solar storm for the first time, the space agency announced Tuesday. The spacecraft, part of NASA's Sun-Earth Connection program, include two new spacecraft, TIMED and RHESSI, as well as the ACE, SOHO, IMAGE, TRACE, Polar, and Wind missions. The first results from TIMED, launched early this year, will be presented at a meeting of the American Geophysical Union this week in Washington DC.
  • ESA engineers have completed a set of vibration and acoustic tests of the Rosetta spacecraft. The spacecraft passed tests where it was exposed to noise levels of 135 decibels, designed to simulate the noise environment of launch. Rosetta, a mission to explore the comet Wirtanen, is scheduled to be shipped to the Kourou launch site in September for a January 2003 launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 20
NASA observatory spots a star eating planet
Science — 1:13 am ET (0513 GMT)
Gilmour secures ex-NASA experts for advisory board
Defence Connect (Australia) — 1:12 am ET (0512 GMT)
Neptune, as you’ve never seen it
Cosmos Magazine — 1:05 am ET (0505 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list