spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Israel, Russia launch military satellites
Posted: Wed, May 29, 2002, 2:04 PM ET (1804 GMT)
Kosmos-3M file photo (SSC) Israel and Russia separately launched military satellites within hours of each other on Tuesday. A Shavit rocket successfully launched Israel's Ofeq 5 reconnaissance satellite Tuesday at 11:25 am EDT (1525 GMT) from the Palmachim launch site south of Tel Aviv. The launch ends a gap in military imaging capability for Israel after the Ofeq 3 satellite ended its mission over a year ago; Ofeq 4 failed to reach orbit when launched in 1998. A Russian Kosmos-3M booster launched an unidentified satellite at 2:15 pm EDT (1815 GMT) Tuesday from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia. Few details about the satellite, which would be named Kosmos 2389 under current nomenclature standards, were released, although some sources have identified it as a navigation satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 18
First ICEYE-X1 Radar Image from Space Published
PR Newswire — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
U.S. missile-deterrence to get upgrade from Florida launch
Orlando Sentinel — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Iridium confident NEXT will remain on track; all eyes on Falcon Heavy
Runway Girl Network — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list