spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle launch delayed until Monday
Updated: Fri, May 31, 2002, 4:40 PM ET (2040 GMT)
Originally Posted: Fri, May 31, 2002, 1:16 PM ET (1716 GMT)
STS-111 patch (NASA) NASA decided Friday morning to postpone plans to launch the shuttle Endeavour Friday night, deciding later in the day to wait until Monday before making another launch attempt. NASA had planned to make a second launch attempt Friday night at 7:22 pm EDT (2322 GMT), one day after weather scrubbed the first attempt, but a poor forecast for tonight led shuttle managers to delay the launch Friday morning. The decision was made before fueling of the shuttle's external tank began, saving NASA the estimated $600,000 expense of loading liquid hydrogen and oxygen into the giant tank. NASA had scheduled a meeting for 7:30 pm EDT (2330 GMT) Friday night to discuss launch plans, but moved up the meeting to Friday afternoon given poor weather conditions at the Cape that are expected to remain unacceptable for launch through the weekend. The launch has been rescheduled for between 4 and 8 pm EDT (2000 and 0000 GMT) Monday; an exact launch time will be announced 24 hours prior to liftoff.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list