spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches Intelsat 905
Posted: Wed, Jun 5, 2002, 9:03 AM ET (1303 GMT)
Ariane 44L file photo (Arianespace) An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched the Intelsat 905 communications satellite early Wednesday. The Ariane 44L, the version of the Ariane 4 that uses four liquid-propellant strap-ons, lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana at 2:44 am EDT (0644 GMT). It successfully placed into a geosynchronous transfer orbit Intelsat 905, a Space Systems/Loral 1300-series spacecraft. Intelsat 905 will be positioned at 24.5 degrees west, replacing Intelsat 603, which will be moved to 178 degrees east. The launch is the seventh this year for Arianespace, with the eighth, an Ariane 5 launch of two communications satellites, tentatively scheduled for late June.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 15
First Images from OSIRIS REx Mission Have Scientists Buzzing with Excitement
Univ. of Central Florida — 2:07 pm ET (1907 GMT)
NASA’s First Stellar Observatory, OAO 2, Turns 50
NASA/GSFC — 2:05 pm ET (1905 GMT)
Taming turbulence: Seeking to make complex simulations a breeze
Univ. of Wisconsin — 2:05 pm ET (1905 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list