spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NEAR mission extension reports false
Updated: Thu, Feb 22, 2001, 9:58 PM ET (0258 GMT)
Originally Posted: Thu, Feb 22, 2001, 6:26 PM ET (2326 GMT)
Illustration of NEAR landing on Eros Reports that NEAR Shoemaker's mission would be extended several days have turned out to be incorrect, spacetoday.net has learned. A report published on the NEAR web site Thursday afternoon had reported that the mission would be extended an additional four days to allow the spacecraft additional time to collect data from the surface of the asteroid Eros. However, a spokesperson for the Applied Physics Laboratory of The Johns Hopkins University said that report was false, and it has since been removed from the project's web site. There is a remote possibility that the mission, slated to end on Saturday, 10 days after its original termination date, might be extended, but there has been no formal announcement regarding this.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 24
Kuwaiti youth eager to put country on space exploration map
Kuwait News Agency — 5:25 am ET (0925 GMT)
Opinion: Time to stop throwing good money after longshot aerospace investments
Midland (TX) Reporter-Telegram — 5:21 am ET (0921 GMT)
Japan's hopping space rovers land on asteroid
Sky News — 5:19 am ET (0919 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list