spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Russian satellite
Posted: Mon, Jun 10, 2002, 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A Proton booster launched a Russian communications satellite late Sunday. The Proton lifted off from Baikonur at 9:14 pm EDT Sunday (0114 GMT Monday) and placed the Express-A1R communications satellite into orbit. The spacecraft will provide television and radio broadcasting as well as other communications services from its position at 40 degrees east longitude. It is a replacement for Express-A1, which was lost in a Proton launch failure in October 1999. The launch is the third Proton mission of the year, after two commercial launches in March and May arranged by International Launch Services.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 24
Kuwaiti youth eager to put country on space exploration map
Kuwait News Agency — 5:25 am ET (0925 GMT)
Opinion: Time to stop throwing good money after longshot aerospace investments
Midland (TX) Reporter-Telegram — 5:21 am ET (0921 GMT)
Japan's hopping space rovers land on asteroid
Sky News — 5:19 am ET (0919 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list