spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: April 13-14
Posted: Mon, Apr 15 8:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)
Northrop Grumman announced late Sunday evening that it has increased its offer for TRW to $53/share. The new offer, valid through May 3, values...

Astronauts complete second STS-110 EVA
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)
Two Atlantis astronauts conducted Saturday the second of four spacewalks scheduled for the STS-110 mission. Jerry Ross and Lee Morin, dubbed the "Silver Team"...

O'Keefe unveils new NASA vision, mission statements
Posted: Sat, Apr 13 12:17 PM ET (1617 GMT)
NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe outlined the new vision and mission statements for NASA during a speech Friday afternoon at Syracuse University. The statements say...

News briefs: April 12
Posted: Sat, Apr 13 11:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)
The European Space Agency and the French government signed an agreement this week that guarantees ESA's access to the Guiana Space Center in Kourou....

Report: teacher to be named to shuttle flight
Updated: Fri, Apr 12 2:37 PM ET (1837 GMT)
Originally Posted: Fri, Apr 12 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
Barbara Morgan, the runner up in the 1980s Teacher in Space competition, will be named to a crew of a 2004 shuttle mission to the...

Astronauts attach truss to space station
Posted: Fri, Apr 12 9:03 AM ET (1303 GMT)
Two spacewalking astronauts completed the initial installation of the first segment of the International Space Station's truss on Thursday despite some difficulties that extended...

News briefs: April 11
Posted: Fri, Apr 12 7:40 AM ET (1140 GMT)
Japanese amateur astronomer Yuji Hyakutake passed away Wednesday after suffering a heart aneurysm. Hyakutake is best known for discovering a comet in early 1996 that...

Business briefs: April 11
Posted: Fri, Apr 12 7:23 AM ET (1123 GMT)
The US Department of Justice contacted Northrop Grumman this week and requested additional information about that company's plans to acquire TRW, company officials said...

Stars evidence of new state of matter
Posted: Thu, Apr 11 10:54 AM ET (1454 GMT)
Astronomers using the Chandra X-Ray Observatory have discovered two stars that may be made of a new state of matter. The astronomers found one...

News briefs: April 10
Posted: Thu, Apr 11 8:18 AM ET (1218 GMT)
Pop star and would-be space tourist Lance Bass said he plans to undergo additional medical tests to gain clearance to take a Soyuz flight,...



news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Lunar outpost in 5 years? 2 companies unveil plans
My News 13 Orlando — 6:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ULA, Bigelow plan to place inflatable space habitat near moon by 2022
Denver Business Journal — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Virgin Galactic CEO to speak at Dubai Airshow
Arabian Business — 6:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
Elon Musk's 4 Success Mantras From SpaceX And Tesla
Forbes.com — 6:36 am ET (1036 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list