spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Countdown begins for second XM Satellite launch
Posted: Sun, May 6, 2001, 6:32 PM ET (2232 GMT)
Zenit-3SL launch The countdown began late Saturday for the launch this week of the second of two XM Satellite Radio spacecraft. The multinational Sea Launch consortium announced late Saturday that launch preparations had begun for the launch of the XM-1 "Roll" spacecraft on a Zenit 3SL from Sea Launch's mobile launch platform, positioned on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean southeast of Hawaii. Launch of the spacecraft is scheduled for 6:10 pm EDT (2210 GMT) Tuesday, May 8. The spacecraft will join XM-2, placed in geosynchronous orbit in March by Sea Launch. The two spacecraft will provide digital satellite radio broadcasts to subscribers in the United States later this year. XM-1 was scheduled for launch in January, but a last-second abort, triggered by a false alarm on the spacecraft, forced Sea Launch to bring the spacecraft and booster back to its home port of Long Beach, California for refurbishment.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

NASA human spaceflight head abruptly resigns
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 27
OneWeb applies to FCC for bigger fleet authorisation
Telecompaper — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
NASA eyes Aug. for SpaceX ship liftoff with Japanese astronaut aboard
Kyodo International — 7:16 am ET (1116 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list