spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cassini flies past Titan
Posted: Wed, Dec 15, 2004, 7:45 AM ET (1245 GMT)
Cassini and Huygens at Titan (NASA) NASA's Cassini spacecraft made its second close approach to Titan this week, encountering more atmospheric drag than expected during the flyby. Cassini made its close approach to Titan at 7 pm EST Monday (0000 GMT Tuesday), coming within 1,200 km of the moon's surface. USA Today reported Wednesday that the spacecraft encountered more atmospheric drag than expected during the flyby, evidence that the moon's atmosphere extends farther outward than expected. As a result, mission controllers plan to raise the altitude of a planned February flyby from 950 to 1,030 km. Cassini is still on schedule to release the ESA-built Huygens probe late on Christmas Eve; Huygens will enter Titan's atmosphere on January 14.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Astronauts complete first AMS repair spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Nov 17 9:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)


LeoSat suspends operations
Posted: Sun, Nov 17 9:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 21
Trump's pick for NOAA job withdraws, citing health reasons
Washington Times — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list