spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Poor weather delays Kodiak Star launch
Posted: Fri, Sep 21, 2001, 7:55 PM ET (2355 GMT)
Kodiak Launch Complex (Alaska Aerospace) Inclement weather conditions forced controllers Friday to delay for a day the launch of an Athena rocket carrying NASA and Defense Department satellites. The Athena 1 booster was scheduled to launch on the "Kodiak Star" mission Friday at 9 pm EDT (0100 GMT Saturday), but a combination of clouds, wind, and rain caused controllers to postpone the launch hours before liftoff. The launch is now scheduled for Saturday at 9 pm EDT (0100 GMT Sunday) from the Kodiak Launch Complex on Kodiak Island, Alaska. The Athena 1 carries four spacecraft: the Starshine 3 satellite for NASA and three small spacecraft sponsored by the Defense Department. The launch was previously scheduled for September 17 but delayed until the 21st after last week's terrorist attacks disrupted commercial air travel in the U.S., preventing launch personnel from getting to Kodiak.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 9
Wanted: A new UAE astronaut
The National (UAE) — 3:57 am ET (0857 GMT)
NASA’s social media contest for behind-the-scenes access
WAVY-TV Norfolk, VA — 3:52 am ET (0852 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list