spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Radar problem delays Kodiak Star launch
Posted: Sat, Sep 22, 2001, 11:44 PM ET (0344 GMT)
Kodiak Launch Complex (Alaska Aerospace) A problem with a tracking radar scrubbed the launch of an Athena rocket Saturday evening. The Athena 1 was scheduled for launch at 9 pm EDT (0100 GMT Sunday) on the "Kodiak Star" mission from the Kodiak Launch Complex in Alaska, but the countdown was stopped at the T-20 minute mark after problems developed with a tracking radar in Cordova, Alaska. Launch officials decided to scrub the launch at around 10:30 pm EDT (0230 GMT) when it became clear the radar would not be fixed before the two-hour launch window closed. No new launch date has been set, but weather, which delayed a launch attempt Friday, is expected to worsen by Sunday. The Athena 1 carries four spacecraft: the Starshine 3 satellite for NASA and three small spacecraft sponsored by the Defense Department.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 9
Wanted: A new UAE astronaut
The National (UAE) — 3:57 am ET (0857 GMT)
NASA’s social media contest for behind-the-scenes access
WAVY-TV Norfolk, VA — 3:52 am ET (0852 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list