spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Indian spacecraft enters lunar orbit
Posted: Sat, Nov 8, 2008, 2:40 PM ET (1940 GMT)
Chandrayaan 1 illustration (ISRO) India's first lunar mission successfully entered orbit around the Moon on Saturday. Chandrayaan-1 fired its main engine for 817 seconds at 6:21 am EST (1121 GMT, 4:51 pm Indian time) Saturday, moving the spacecraft from a lunar transfer trajectory into an elliptical orbit around the Moon. The spacecraft is currently in an orbit of 504 by 7,502 kilometers, but will eventually maneuver into a 100-kilometer circular orbit. Chandrayaan-1 was launched October 22 into Earth orbit, and gradually raised its apogee until it moved into a transfer trajectory. The spacecraft, India's first mission beyond Earth orbit, carries a suite of instruments from India, Europe, and the United States, as well as an impactor probe that will be fired towards the surface once the spacecraft is in its final orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 9
Wanted: A new UAE astronaut
The National (UAE) — 3:57 am ET (0857 GMT)
NASA’s social media contest for behind-the-scenes access
WAVY-TV Norfolk, VA — 3:52 am ET (0852 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list