spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Kaguya impacts lunar surface
Posted: Thu, Jun 11, 2009, 7:42 AM ET (1142 GMT)
Kaguya (SELENE) illustration (JAXA) A Japanese spacecraft completed its mission Wednesday by crashing to the lunar surface. The Japanese space agency JAXA confirmed that the Kaguya spacecraft hit the lunar surface at 2:25 pm EDT (1825 GMT) Wednesday in the Moon's southern hemisphere. The impact point was in darkness, and a flash apparently caused by the impact was observed by at least one telescope on Earth. The orbiter, launched in September 2007, had been gradually lowering its orbit in recent months in preparation for the impact. The impact comes just a week before the launch of another Moon mission, NASA's Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter. A second spacecraft on that launch, LCROSS, will observe the impact of the rocket's upper stage on the Moon before colliding with the Moon itself.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 24
Space Force establishes the first of three field commands
Military Times — 9:16 am ET (1316 GMT)
Colorado's case to house U.S. Space Command grows even stronger
Colorado Springs Gazette — 9:16 am ET (1316 GMT)
Raymond building culture of urgency into new Space Force
Colorado Springs Gazette — 9:15 am ET (1315 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list