spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Sirius XM satellite
Posted: Fri, Oct 15, 2010, 7:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)
A Proton rocket successfully launched the latest spacecraft for satellite radio operator Sirius XM early Friday. The Proton M lifted off from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 2:53 pm EDT Thursday (1853 GMT Thursday, 12:53 am local time Friday) and released the XM 5 satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit a little over nine hours later. The spacecraft, a Space Systems/Loral 1300-series spacecraft, weighed nearly 6,000 kilograms at launch. The spacecraft will eventually be located at 85.2 degrees west in GEO and serve as an on-orbit spare for existing spacecraft providing satellite radio programming to customers in North America. The launch was the ninth Proton mission of 2010, six of which, including this one, were commercial.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 9
Wanted: A new UAE astronaut
The National (UAE) — 3:57 am ET (0857 GMT)
NASA’s social media contest for behind-the-scenes access
WAVY-TV Norfolk, VA — 3:52 am ET (0852 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list