spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: February 19
Posted: Wed, Feb 20, 2002, 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
  • Mars may have experienced major floods as recently as 10 million years ago, University of Arizona scientists said Monday. They found evidence of floods associated with fissures in the Martian surface located near the equator. The water may be linked to geologically recent volcanic activity in the region.
  • The Moon will occult, or pass in front of, the planet Saturn as seen by observers in North America Wednesday night. Saturn will disappear for up to 90 minutes starting between 6 and 7 pm EST (2300 and 0000 GMT) for people across the continent. The occultation is considered a "prime event" by astronomers because the Moon is just past first quarter and thus not too bright to wash out the planet.
  • John Glenn will mark the 40th anniversary of his historic space flight Wednesday by talking with the crew of the International Space Station. Glenn, who became the first American to orbit the Earth on February 20, 1962, will join NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe in the conversation. Glenn is scheduled to give a speech at the National Air and Space Museum in Washington DC Wednesday evening.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 9
Wanted: A new UAE astronaut
The National (UAE) — 3:57 am ET (0857 GMT)
NASA’s social media contest for behind-the-scenes access
WAVY-TV Norfolk, VA — 3:52 am ET (0852 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list