spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Orion abort system test a success
Posted: Sun, Jul 7, 2019, 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)
NASA performed a successful in-flight test of the Orion spacecraft's abort system Tuesday morning. The refurbished Peacekeeper booster motor carrying a boilerplate Orion and its launch abort system (LAS) lifted off from Cape Canaveral's Space Launch Complex 46 at 7 am EDT (1100 GMT). The LAS fired 55 seconds after liftoff, pulling the capsule away from the booster before jettisoning. NASA said immediately after the test that it appeared to go as planned, with more details about the test expected later this morning. The LAS was tested under conditions it would experience should it have to pull an Orion spacecraft away from an SLS during ascent.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship prototype damaged in tanking test
Posted: Sat, Nov 23 10:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)

NASA adds five companies to CLPS program
Posted: Sat, Nov 23 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)

FCC to hold public auction of satellite C-band spectrum
Posted: Sat, Nov 23 10:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 7
Is Boeing's mega space rocket back on track?
POLITICO — 8:33 am ET (1333 GMT)
How India can build its own SpaceX
Deccan Herald — 8:30 am ET (1330 GMT)
This Phoenix engineer will have her own device in space in 2021
KSAZ-TV Phoenix — 8:29 am ET (1329 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list