spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts complete first AMS repair spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Nov 17, 2019, 9:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
ISS spacewalk on 2019 November 15 (NASA) Two astronauts performed the first in a series of spacewalks Friday to repair an International Space Station instrument. Andrew Morgan and Luca Parmitano started the spacewalk at 6:39 am EST (1139 GMT), which lasted six hours and 39 minutes. The two started work to repair the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer, an instrument on the station's truss whose cooling system is failing. The two astronauts were able to complete all their planned tasks to prepare the instrument for repairs, and completed a number of get-ahead tasks originally scheduled for the second spacewalk. NASA expects four spacewalks will be needed to replace the instrument's cooling system.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 9
Wanted: A new UAE astronaut
The National (UAE) — 3:57 am ET (0857 GMT)
NASA’s social media contest for behind-the-scenes access
WAVY-TV Norfolk, VA — 3:52 am ET (0852 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list