spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


GAO report criticizes station management
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:31 AM ET (1431 GMT)
A report by the General Accounting Office (GAO) released this week criticized NASA for poor management of the International Space Station project. The report concluded...

News briefs: July 19
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:19 AM ET (1419 GMT)
Representatives of the partner nations of the International Space Station project will meet in Washington July 23 to discuss concerns about NASA's commitment to...

Shuttle schedule in flux
Posted: Fri, Jul 19 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
NASA may reorder the launches of the next three shuttle missions as it works out a plan to deal with the cracks found in fuel...

News briefs: July 18
Posted: Fri, Jul 19 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
Lockheed Martin reported a slight increase in Space Systems earnings for its fiscal second quarter Thursday. The company reported earnings of $122 million for the...

News briefs: July 17
Posted: Thu, Jul 18 8:19 AM ET (1219 GMT)
The search for a spacecraft launched on a suborbital test flight last week continues in Russia. The Demonstrator-2 spacecraft was launched July 12 from...

Business briefs: July 17
Posted: Thu, Jul 18 8:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)
Boeing's Space and Communications division reported increased revenue and earnings in the fiscal second quarter, the company announced Wednesday. Boeing reported earnings of $181...

Proposed Soyuz crew manifest includes Bass
Updated: Wed, Jul 17 7:47 PM ET (2347 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Jul 17 12:41 PM ET (1641 GMT)
Pop star and potential space tourist Lance Bass has been included in the proposed crew of a Soyuz taxi mission to the International Space Station...

News briefs: July 16
Posted: Wed, Jul 17 7:28 AM ET (1128 GMT)
China plans to launch its first people into space in 2003 or 2004, according to a US Defense Department report. The report also said that...

Bush Administration planning space policy study
Posted: Tue, Jul 16 8:38 PM ET (0038 GMT)
The Bush Administration is planning a review and possibly a major overhaul of the nation's space policy, according to a new directive. National Security...

News briefs: July 15
Posted: Tue, Jul 16 7:39 AM ET (1139 GMT)
The search for a Russian spacecraft launched on a suborbital flight continued Monday without success, the AP reported. Demonstrator-2, launched from a Russian sub...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 20
Gilmour secures ex-NASA experts for advisory board
Defence Connect (Australia) — 1:12 am ET (0512 GMT)
Neptune, as you’ve never seen it
Cosmos Magazine — 1:05 am ET (0505 GMT)
Brightest early galaxy not so early after all
Cosmos Magazine — 1:05 am ET (0505 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list