spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

n e w s   i n   b r i e f
n e w s   l i n k s
 
Hubble finds potential KBO targets for New Horizons
Posted: Mon, Oct 20 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)
Kuiper Belt Object candidate for New Horizons illus. (NASA) Astronomers have discovered three Kuiper Belt Objects (KBOs) that could be potential targets for the New Horizons mission after it flies past Pluto next year. The KBOs, with estimated sizes of 25 to 55 kilometers across, are within range of New Horizons given its trajectory and fuel supply. A flyby of any of those objects would take place late in the decade, and require NASA approval of an extended mission. The New Horizons mission team had been looking for several for a KBO to visit after the its July 2015 Pluto flyby, but groundbased searches failed to turn up any candidates. An extensive search by Hubble discovered the three KBOs.


X-37B lands in California
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)
X-37B OTV-3 landing (USAF) A secretive military spaceplane completed its third, and longest yet, mission Friday with a landing at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. The X-37B completed what the Air Force calls Orbital Test Vehicle mission 3 (OTV-3) by landing on the main runway at Vandenberg at 9:24 am PDT (12:24 EDT, 1624 GMT) Friday. The Air Force announced late last week that the vehicle would be landing soon; while some reports indicated a landing could take place as early as Tuesday, the Air Force did not explain why the landing took place on Friday. The X-37B spent 674 days in space, carrying out a classified mission that outsiders have speculated ranged from technology demonstrations to reconnaissance. The Air Force said Friday that a fourth X-37B mission is scheduled for launch in 2015 from Cape Canaveral.


MIT professor nominated to become NASA deputy administrator
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)
The White House announced Thursday that it has nominated an MIT professor with experience in space technology and policy to become the second-in-command...


Ariane launches two Latin American communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 7:38 AM ET (1138 GMT)
An Ariane 5 successfully placed in orbit Thursday two communications satellites that will serve Latin America. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off at 5:43...


India launches third navigation satellite
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 7:22 AM ET (1122 GMT)
A PSLV rocket successfully launched the third in a series of domestic navigation satellites on Thursday. The PSLV-XL lifted off from the Satish Dhawan...





Monday, October 20
NASA's Mars Odyssey Orbiter Watches Comet Fly Near
NASA/JPL — 5:34 am ET (0934 GMT)
NASA's MAVEN Studies Passing Comet and Its Effects
NASA/JPL — 5:34 am ET (0934 GMT)
Secret US spaceplane lands after 674-day mission
New Scientist — 5:32 am ET (0932 GMT)
Op-Ed: Hey, MIT — What about success on Mars?
Digital Journal — 5:31 am ET (0931 GMT)
Alex Tang: the HK man sending tourists to space
Time Out Hong Kong — 5:27 am ET (0927 GMT)
Legislative meeting Monday to focus on spaceport
Las Cruces (NM) Sun-News — 5:25 am ET (0925 GMT)
SSL's Intelsat 30 starts maneuvers after successful launch
Telecompaper — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)
Hiding behind Mars, MOM captures comet
The Times of India — 5:22 am ET (0922 GMT)
Dedication ceremony honors Wilcutt, Finney
Bowling Green (KY) Daily News — 5:21 am ET (0921 GMT)
NASA Ames turns 75; tens of thousands flock to open house
San Jose Mercury News — 5:19 am ET (0919 GMT)
The real space oddity, Chris Hadfield, is down-to-Earth
Ars Technica — 5:17 am ET (0917 GMT)
Hypervelocity comet passes within 87,000 miles of Mars
Washington Times — 5:17 am ET (0917 GMT)
12 Join International Space Hall of Fame
Alamogordo Daily News — 5:15 am ET (0915 GMT)
Comet hurtles past Mars in rare celestial event
Deutsche Welle — 5:15 am ET (0915 GMT)
USC awarded NASA grant for first time
USC Daily Trojan — 5:13 am ET (0913 GMT)
Comet squeaks by Mars
Al Jazeera America — 5:11 am ET (0911 GMT)
CU students behind the controls of NASA spacecraft
CU Independent — 5:11 am ET (0911 GMT)
UT professor on NASA’s Mars mission team
Nashville Tennessean — 5:11 am ET (0911 GMT)
This Week in Fiction: Tom Hanks
The New Yorker — 5:09 am ET (0909 GMT)
An All-Female Mission to Mars
Slate — 4:59 am ET (0859 GMT)
Boeing reaches final Commercial Crew design milestone
SpaceFlight Insider — 4:54 am ET (0854 GMT)


Waiting for Launch ebook



Advertise on Spacetoday.net