spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-104 launch delayed again
Posted: Thu, Jun 7 5:43 PM ET (2143 GMT)
The launch of the space shuttle Atlantis has been delayed again, but only by a few days, shuttle officials announced Thursday. Shuttle managers said the...

Senate report claims major mismanagement at NASA
Posted: Thu, Jun 7 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)
A report released Tuesday by a Senate committee listed NASA among the top ten agencies and programs with the worst mismanagement problems. The report, by...

NASA picks two Pluto mission proposals for further study
Posted: Thu, Jun 7 12:59 AM ET (0459 GMT)
NASA announced Wednesday it had selected for further study two proposals for a spacecraft mission to the planet Pluto even though there is currently no...

Planned strike could slow shuttle preparations
Posted: Tue, Jun 5 6:18 PM ET (2218 GMT)
An upcoming strike could hamper preparations for next month's shuttle flight. 600 United Space Alliance (USA) workers represented by the International Association of Machinists...

Astronomers find asteroid belt around another star
Posted: Tue, Jun 5 6:07 PM ET (2207 GMT)
Astronomers announced Monday that they had found evidence of an asteroid belt forming around another star. UCLA astronomers Michael Jung and Christine Chen said that...

NASA delays HESSI launch to investigate Pegasus failure
Posted: Mon, Jun 4 9:19 PM ET (0119 GMT)
Concerns about the Pegasus XL launch vehicle caused NASA Monday to delay this week's scheduled launch of a science spacecraft. The High Energy Solar...

US, South Africa spar over space junk
Posted: Mon, Jun 4 11:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
A South African museum plans to fight to keep three pieces of debris from a Delta rocket from bring returned to the United States. The...

X-43A destroyed after going off course
Posted: Sat, Jun 2 10:18 PM ET (0218 GMT)
A NASA X-43A experimental aircraft was destroyed Saturday afternoon after it and the Pegasus rocket boosting the vehicle went off course seconds after launch....

ISS crew to get mission extension but no external spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Jun 2 12:37 PM ET (1637 GMT)
NASA officials confirmed Friday that the three-person crew on the International Space Station will remain there several weeks longer than previously planned. The Expedition...

ISS robot arm problems delay next shuttle mission
Posted: Wed, May 30 1:58 PM ET (1758 GMT)
Problems with the new robotic arm on the International Space Station will delay the next shuttle mission until at least early July, NASA officials announced...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list