spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India names new head of space agency
Posted: Tue, Jan 13 7:34 AM ET (1234 GMT)
The Indian government has named a new chairman of the country's space agency. The government announced Monday that A.S. Kiran Kumar will be...

Falcon 9 launches ISS cargo mission
Posted: Sat, Jan 10 8:39 AM ET (1339 GMT)
A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket successfully launched a Dragon cargo spacecraft on a mission to resupply the International Space Station early Saturday, although an effort...

Astronomers detect more possible Earth-like planets in Kepler data
Posted: Sat, Jan 10 8:28 AM ET (1328 GMT)
Astronomers announced this week they have discovered several more planets with sizes and orbits similar to Earth in data collected by NASA's Kepler mission....

Technical problem scrubs Falcon 9 launch
Posted: Tue, Jan 6 1:34 PM ET (1834 GMT)
The launch of a commercial cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station was scrubbed Tuesday when its Falcon 9 rocket suffered a technical problem in...

GAO rejects protest of commercial crew contracts
Posted: Tue, Jan 6 12:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)
The US Government Accountability Office (GAO) said Monday that NASA did nothing improper when it issued commercial crew contracts in September to two companies, denying...

Head of ISRO retires
Posted: Fri, Jan 2 10:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)
The head of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), the nation's space agency, retired Wednesday, with only an interim replacement named. K. Radhakrishnan stepped...

China launches weather satellite
Posted: Wed, Dec 31 8:12 AM ET (1312 GMT)
A Long March rocket placed a Chinese weather satellite into orbit on Wednesday in the final scheduled launch of 2014. The Long March 3A rocket...

SpaceX wins contract for Qatari satellite
Posted: Wed, Dec 31 7:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
SpaceX has won a contract to launch a satellite for a Qatari company in late 2016, the companies announced Sunday. SpaceX will launch the Es'...

Proton launches European communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Dec 29 8:55 AM ET (1355 GMT)
A Proton rocket successfully launched a commercial communications satellite for a European company on Sunday. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome...

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Dec 27 11:53 AM ET (1653 GMT)
A Long March rocket placed the latest in a series of military reconnaissance satellites into orbit on Saturday. The Long March 4B rocket lifted off...



news in brief
FCC chairman endorses SpaceX satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress after delay
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)

NASA budget proposal seeks to cancel WFIRST
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:20 PM ET (2320 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 19
Rocket Lab's second silver ball will remain on Earth
Stuff.co.nz — 4:53 am ET (0953 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list