spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Long March 4B launches two satellites
Posted: Sat, May 4 10:59 AM ET (1459 GMT)
China launched a pair of scientific satellites Monday. A Long March 4B rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 6:52 p....

SpaceX wins approval for lower Starlink orbits
Posted: Sun, Apr 28 9:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)
SpaceX said Friday it received approval from the FCC to place some of its broadband communications satellites into a lower orbit. The FCC said SpaceX...

Hayabusa2 makes crater on asteroid
Posted: Sun, Apr 28 8:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
Japan's Hayabusa2 spacecraft succeeded in making a crater on the surface of the asteroid Ryugu. Images returned by the spacecraft showed that an impactor...

InSight detects first Martian quake
Posted: Sat, Apr 27 8:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
NASA's InSight Mars lander has detected its first Marsquake. Scientists said Tuesday that the French-built seismometer on the lander detected the quake April...

Justice Department reaches deal with company implicated in Taurus failures
Posted: Sat, Apr 27 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
The Justice Department has reached a settlement with a company implicated in two Taurus launch failures. The department said that Hydro Extrusion Portland, Inc., formerly...

China launches Beidou navigation satellite
Posted: Sat, Apr 27 8:52 AM ET (1252 GMT)
China launched a new Beidou navigation satellite April 20. A Long March 3B lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 10:41 am...

SpaceX Crew Dragon suffers anomaly during ground tests
Posted: Sun, Apr 21 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)
A Crew Dragon spacecraft undergoing a series of static fire tests Saturday suffered a major anomaly, SpaceX confirmed. The spacecraft, at Landing Zone 1 at...

Intelsat declares communications satellite a total loss
Posted: Sun, Apr 21 10:08 AM ET (1408 GMT)
Intelsat announced Thursday it had declared its Intelsat-29e satellite a total loss after it experienced problems earlier this month. The spacecraft suffered a fuel...

Cygnus arrives at ISS
Posted: Sat, Apr 20 9:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)
A Cygnus cargo spacecraft has arrived at the International Space Station less than two days after its launch from Virginia. The Cygnus, launched Wednesday on...

NASA to extend stays of two astronauts on ISS
Posted: Sat, Apr 20 9:57 AM ET (1357 GMT)
Two NASA astronauts will get extended stays on the ISS, including one that will set a record. NASA announced Wednesday that Christina Koch, who arrived...



news in brief
Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)

Vega launch of UAE satellite fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:17 PM ET (2017 GMT)

NASA reassigns leadership of exploration programs
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:16 PM ET (2016 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 16
Galileo sat-nav system still without service
BBC — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
Europe's GPS system stops working
The Independent — 7:20 am ET (1120 GMT)
Galileo’s initial services rocky patch continues
GPS World — 7:19 am ET (1119 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list