spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronomers observe "cosmic web" connecting galaxies
Posted: Sun, Oct 6 11:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)
Astronomers have seen for the first time a "cosmic web" of material connecting distant galaxies. Observations of a "protocluster" of galaxies 12 billion light-years...

Blue Origin may not fly people to space before year's end
Posted: Sun, Oct 6 11:03 AM ET (1503 GMT)
Blue Origin may not fly people in space before the end of the year as the company previously planned. Blue Origin CEO Bob Smith, speaking...

Virgin Galactic signs agreement with Italian Air Force
Posted: Sun, Oct 6 11:02 AM ET (1502 GMT)
Virgin Galactic announced Wednesday a contract with the Italian Air Force for a research flight on its SpaceShipTwo suborbital vehicle. The contract, signed at the...

Relativity Space raised $140 million
Posted: Sun, Oct 6 11:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
Small launch vehicle developer Relativity Space has raised $140 million in a new funding round. Relativity said the Series C round was led by two...

Senate defense bill includes funding for Space Force, small launch
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)
The Senate's defense appropriations bill includes $22 million for a new small launch program. The funding for Tactically Responsive Space Launch, part of the...

Astronomers find water in atmosphere of exoplanet
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)
Astronomers have found a planet in a star's habitable zone with evidence of water in its atmosphere, but don't make your travel plans...

China launches three smallsats
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)
China launched three satellites on a Long March 4B overnight. The rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 11:26 p.m....

Relatvity signs agreement with Momentus
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 7:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)
Small launch vehicle company Relativity announced a launch agreement Wednesday with Momentus. The agreement includes one launch of Relativity's Terran 1 rocket in 2021...

Glenn center director to retire
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 7:58 AM ET (1158 GMT)
The director of NASA's Glenn Research Center will retire from NASA at the end of the month. Janet Kavandi, who led the Cleveland-based...

Chinese commercial small rocket launches two satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 1 9:33 AM ET (1333 GMT)
A small launch vehicle operated by the commercial arm of a Chinese company placed two satellites into orbit Friday. The Kuaizhou-1A rocket lifted off...



news in brief

Senate introduces NASA authorization bill
Posted: Sun, Nov 10 7:57 AM ET (1257 GMT)

Boeing offers SLS-launched lunar lander for NASA
Posted: Sun, Nov 10 7:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

news links
Monday, November 11
Midland finding its place in the space industry
KWES-TV Midland, TX — 6:00 am ET (1100 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list