spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches Progress spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jun 26, 2002, 10:12 AM ET (1412 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Soyuz booster launched a Progress cargo spacecraft early Wednesday on a mission to the International Space Station. The spacecraft, known alternatively as Progress M-46 by Rosaviakosmos and Progress 8 by NASA, lifted off from Baikonur on a Soyuz booster at 1:36 am EDT (0536 GMT). The spacecraft is scheduled to dock with the station on Saturday: while Progress spacecraft normally dock two days after launch, flight controllers plan to spend an additional day testing an automated rendezvous system that has experienced some glitches in the past. The Progress is carrying 2.4 tons of supplies and equipment for the Expedition Five crew currently on the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Monday, November 20
Tucson Tech: Small-sat launcher Vector lining up launch sites
Arizona Daily Star — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Poroshenko said that Ukraine is a space power
The Stopru — 1:49 am ET (0649 GMT)
UK to clear the way for US space rocket launches in Britain
The Daily Telegraph — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)
‘PSLV built by domestic industry by 2020’
The Hindu — 1:43 am ET (0643 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list