spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA replaces pilot of future shuttle mission
Updated: Wed, Aug 14, 2002, 1:49 PM ET (1749 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Aug 14, 2002, 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)
Gus Loria (NASA) The pilot of a shuttle mission scheduled for launch in November has been replaced for health reasons, SPACE.com reported Tuesday. Gus Loria was scheduled to be the pilot on mission STS-113, a flight by Endeavour to the International Space Station. However, NASA has removed him from the flight because of an unspecified injury suffered in a home accident. A NASA spokesman said that he didn't believe the injury was severe enough to permanently ground Loria, but offered no additional information about his status. SPACE.com reported Wednesday that Loria will remain with the astronaut office and will be eligible to fly on future missions. Loria will be replaced on STS-113 by Paul Lockhart, who was pilot of the STS-111 shuttle mission earlier this year.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list