spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Contact lost with CONTOUR spacecraft
Posted: Thu, Aug 15, 2002, 10:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
CONTOUR spacecraft illustration (NASA/JHUAPL) CONTOUR project officials said Thursday morning that they have lost contact with the spacecraft hours after it was scheduled to perform a critical maneuver. CONTOUR was scheduled to fire its main engine at 4:49 am EDT (0849 GMT) to boost the spacecraft out of Earth orbit. Radio communication with the spacecraft was to be restored by 5:35 am EDT (0935 GMT), three and a half hours later spacecraft controllers had yet to establish contact. "The mission operations team is working through several backup plans to establish contact with the spacecraft, searching along the predicted trajectories for a successful burn," project officials said in a statement. CONTOUR (Comet Nucleus Tour) is a Discovery-class NASA spacecraft designed to fly by the nuclei of at least two comets. The spacecraft was launched on a Delta 2 in early July and placed in an elliptical phasing orbit around the Earth to put it in position to leave orbit on a trajectory towards comet Encke.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Monday, November 20
Tucson Tech: Small-sat launcher Vector lining up launch sites
Arizona Daily Star — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Poroshenko said that Ukraine is a space power
The Stopru — 1:49 am ET (0649 GMT)
UK to clear the way for US space rocket launches in Britain
The Daily Telegraph — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)
‘PSLV built by domestic industry by 2020’
The Hindu — 1:43 am ET (0643 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list