spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shortened ISS spacewalk completed
Posted: Fri, Aug 16, 2002, 1:43 PM ET (1743 GMT)
ISS illustration (NASA) An American astronaut and Russian cosmonaut conducted a delayed, shortened spacewalk outside the International Space Station Friday morning. Valery Korzun and Peggy Whitson started the four-hour, 25-minute spacewalk at 5:23 am EDT (0923 GMT) when they exited the Pirs module on the station. The start of the spacewalk was delayed by one hour and 43 minutes because of misconfigured oxygen valves in their spacesuits. Russian mission controllers elected not to extend the spacewalk beyond its original completion time, limiting the amount of work that could be completed during the EVA. Korzun and Whitson were able to complete the primary task of the spacewalk, the installation of six debris shields on the exterior of the Zvezda module that will protect it from micrometeoroid and orbital debris impacts. Additional tasks planned for the spacewalk — the refurbishment of an experiment on Zvezda hull as well as gathering samples of thruster residue — were put off until a future EVA. NASA officials said Friday morning it wasn’t yet known if Korzun and Sergei Treschev would perform those tasks on a second spacewalk currently scheduled for August 23.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 21
Air Force padded its $13 billion Space Force estimate, analyst says
Washington Examiner — 5:51 am ET (0951 GMT)
Kleos Space seals launch deal for 'scouting mission' satellites
Luxembourg Times — 5:49 am ET (0949 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list