spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Winds delay Proton launch
Posted: Tue, Aug 20, 2002, 10:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)
EchoStar 8 launch poster (ILS) High winds caused delayed the launch of a Proton booster carrying an American television broadcasting satellite early Tuesday. The Proton-K was scheduled to lift off from Baikonur at 1:15 am EDT (0515 GMT) Tuesday, but high winds aloft forced launch controllers to delay the launch. The launch is now scheduled for the same time Wednesday. The vehicle is carrying EchoStar 8, the latest direct television broadcasting satellite for EchoStar Communications Corporation. The launch was originally scheduled for late June but was delayed by a problem with the spacecraft. The delay sets up an unusual launch doubleheader: later Wednesday the maiden launch of the Atlas 5 — marketed, like the Proton, by International Launch Services — is scheduled to take place from Cape Canaveral, Florida.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list