spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches EchoStar 8
Posted: Thu, Aug 22, 2002, 9:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A Proton launch vehicle successfully placed the EchoStar 8 satellite into orbit early Thursday. The Proton-K lifted off at 1:15 am EDT (0515 GMT) and placed the spacecraft and the Block DM upper stage into a transfer orbit. The launch had been postponed the previous two days because of high winds, while spacecraft problems postponed the launch from its original June launch date. EchoStar 8 will be used to provide direct television broadcasting services from 110 degrees west longitude; it will be used with another nearby satellite, EchoStar 7, to provide television programming, including local channels, for the continental US as well as Hawaii and Alaska. The launch was the second in less than eight hours for International Launch Services, after the successful inaugural launch of the Atlas 5 Wednesday evening.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
Every 202,500 Years, Earth Wanders in a New Direction
New York Times — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Alien Asteroids Are Here, Scientists Say. Get Used to Them.
New York Times — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)
Antares launches Cygnus cargo spacecraft to ISS
Space News — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list