spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launch delayed
Posted: Wed, Aug 28, 2002, 7:52 AM ET (1152 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch on Flight 145 (ESA) Technical problems delayed the Ariane 5 launch of two satellites Tuesday by one day. The Ariane 5 was scheduled to launch at 6:30 pm EDT (2230 GMT), but the countdown was stopped three minutes before launch because of a glitch between the booster's onboard computers and ground systems. Engineers appeared to have resolved the problem in time to resume the launch, and the countdown was reset to the T-7 minute mark, but when the countdown started it immediately stopped again, as the launch would have occurred just outside the launch window. The launch has been rescheduled for Wednesday at 6:30 pm EDT (2230 GMT). The Ariane 5 is carrying the Atlantic Bird 1 communications satellite and the MSG 1 weather satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list