spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 5 launches two satellites
Posted: Thu, Aug 29, 2002, 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
Ariane Flight 155 launch (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 lifted off Wednesday night and successfully placed two satellites into orbit. The Ariane 5 lifted off at 6:45 pm EDT (2245 GMT) Wednesday and placed its two spacecraft into geosynchronous transfer orbits 36 minutes after launch. The launch, postponed one day by computer problems, was delayed 15 minutes on Wednesday for undisclosed reasons. The Ariane 5's payload included the Atlantic Bird 1 communications satellite and the MSG 1 weather satellite. Atlantic Bird 1, built by Alenia Spazio for Eutelsat, will provide Ku-band services for Europe and the eastern US from 12.5 degrees west. MSG 1, to be located at 0 degrees east, is the first Meteosat Second Generation weather spacecraft, built by ESA for EUMETSAT. The next Ariane launch is scheduled for September 6, when one of the last remaining Ariane 4 boosters will launch Intelsat 906.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 22
MetService on site for planned Rocket Lab launch
Scoop.co.nz — 5:44 am ET (0944 GMT)
NZ space company prepares for launch
NEWS.com.au — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)
Falcon Heavy Certified For U.S. Air Force Flights
Aviation Week — 5:41 am ET (0941 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list