spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 4 launches Intelsat 906
Posted: Fri, Sep 6, 2002, 8:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
Ariane 44L file photo (Arianespace) One of the last remaining Ariane 4 boosters successfully launched the latest Intelsat communications satellite early Friday. The Ariane 44L lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana at 2:44 am EDT (0644 GMT), and placed into geosynchronous transfer orbit the Intelsat 906 spacecraft. Intelsat 906 is the latest in the Intelsat 9 series of communications satellites; the Space Systems/Loral 1300-series spacecraft will operate from 64 degrees east. The launch is the tenth this year for Arianespace and the second in as many weeks. The launch also used one of the last of the old Ariane 4 launch vehicles: only two Ariane 4s remain as Arianespace switches over entirely to the Ariane 5. The next Ariane 5 launch, scheduled for this fall, will be the first Ariane 5 to use a more powerful upper stage that can place up to 10,000 kg into GTO.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list