spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis moves to launch pad
Posted: Wed, Sep 11, 2002, 2:26 PM ET (1826 GMT)
STS-112 rollout (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Atlantis was rolled out to its launch pad Tuesday in preparation for the first shuttle flight in four months. The shuttle moved from the Vehicle Assembly Building to Pad 39B during a seven-hour rollout early Tuesday morning. The rollout was the first use of one of the massive crawler transporters since cracked bearings were discovered in the vehicles this summer; the bearings were replaced in the transporter used for Tuesday's rollout. Atlantis is scheduled to launch on mission STS-112 on October 2, during a launch window between 2 and 6 pm EDT (1800 to 2200 GMT); the exact launch time will not be announced until one day before launch because of security concerns. The primary purpose of the mission is to install the S1 truss segment to the International Space Station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list