spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Indian PSLV launches weather satellite
Posted: Thu, Sep 12, 2002, 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)
PSLV launch (ISRO) An Indian Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) successfully launched that nation's first dedicated weather satellite on Thursday afternoon. The PSLV lifted off from the launch site at Sriharikota in southern India at 6:25 am EDT (1025 GMT) and placed its payload, the METSAT weather satellite, into geosynchronous transfer orbit (GTO) about 20 minutes after liftoff. METSAT is India's first dedicated weather satellite: previously, India combined weather and communications payloads into the same spacecraft. The launch is the first for the PSLV since October of last year and also the first time the PSLV, normally used for launching payloads into polar orbits, has been used to launch a spacecraft into GTO. METSAT, weighing in at 1,060 kg, is the heaviest payload launched by the PSLV.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list