spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA confirms October 2 STS-112 launch date
Posted: Wed, Sep 18, 2002, 7:52 AM ET (1152 GMT)
STS-112 patch (NASA) NASA shuttle managers said Tuesday that they have selected October 2 as the launch date for the shuttle Atlantis on mission STS-112. Shuttle officials completed a flight readiness review on Tuesday and concurred with previously-announced plans to launch Atlantis on the 2nd. The launch is scheduled for between 2 and 6 pm EDT (1800 and 2200 GMT); the exact time will be announced 24 hours before liftoff as a security precaution. The primary purpose of the 12-day STS-112 mission is to install S1, the first starboard segment of the International Space Station's truss. The six-person crew, commanded by Jeff Ashby, includes Dave Wolf, who spent four months on Mir in 1997, and Russian cosmonaut Fyodor Yurchikhin.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 18
Business time at rocket lab
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:29 am ET (0929 GMT)
'Read With Me' Author Explores Private Space Travel
Northern Public Radio — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
Forget Galileo – UK space sector should look to young stars instead
Institution of Mechanical Engineers — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list