spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 2AS launches Hispasat
Posted: Wed, Sep 18, 2002, 10:44 PM ET (0244 GMT)
Atlas 2AS launch of Hispasat 1D An Atlas 2AS successfully launched a Hispasat communications satellite Wednesday evening. The Atlas 2AS lifted off from pad 36A at Cape Canaveral, Florida on schedule at 6:04 pm EDT (2204 GMT) and released its payload, the Hispasat 1D communications satellite, into a supersynchronous transfer orbit 29 minutes later. Hispasat 1D, an Alcatel Spacebus 3000B2 spacecraft, will be used by Madrid-based Hispasat to provide Ku-band communications services from 30 degrees west longitude. The launch is the fourth Atlas launch of 2002, counting the Atlas 3B and Atlas 5 launches in February and August respectively, as well as an Atlas 2A launch in March. The launch is also the 62nd consecutive successful Atlas launch dating back to 1993.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 27
Guess who’s unhappy about Elon Musk’s SpaceX
The Hill — 9:33 am ET (1333 GMT)
Jeff Bezos: ‘We Must Go Back to the Moon, and This Time to Stay’
Wall Street Journal — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
NASA is basically trying to get hacked
The Outline — 9:26 am ET (1326 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list