spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Kosmos launches navigation satellite
Posted: Fri, Sep 27, 2002, 2:13 PM ET (1813 GMT)
Kosmos-3M file photo (SSC) A Russian Kosmos booster successfully launched a navigation satellite Thursday. The Kosmos-3M booster lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 11:30 am EDT (1530 GMT) Thursday and placed the Nadezhda-M satellite into a 1,000-kilometer low-Earth orbit. The spacecraft will be used to provide navigation services, primarily to ships, and also carries a transponder for the COSPAS-SARSAT search-and-rescue system. It was the second Russian launch in as many days, after a Soyuz rocket launched a Progress cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station on Wednesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list