spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress docks with ISS
Posted: Mon, Sep 30, 2002, 11:16 AM ET (1516 GMT)
Progress spacecraft on approach to ISS (NASA) A Progress cargo spacecraft successfully docked with the International Space Station on Sunday. The spacecraft, known as Progress M1-9 by Russia and Progress 9 by NASA, docked with the aft port of the Zvezda module at 1:01 pm EDT (1701 GMT) Sunday. The docking took place four days after the Progress was launched from Baikonur, longer than normal: the extra time was used to conduct tests of an automated docking system with the Progress in the vicinity of ISS. The Progress is carrying 2.6 tons of cargo for the station, including food, fuel, and other equipment and supplies for the station's crew. The Progress is the first of two spacecraft scheduled to dock with the station this week: the shuttle Atlantis will dock with the station on Friday, assuming an on-time liftoff Wednesday from Florida.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 18
Business time at rocket lab
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:29 am ET (0929 GMT)
'Read With Me' Author Explores Private Space Travel
Northern Public Radio — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
Forget Galileo – UK space sector should look to young stars instead
Institution of Mechanical Engineers — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list