spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis lifts off on STS-112
Posted: Mon, Oct 7, 2002, 6:18 PM ET (2218 GMT)
STS-112 launch (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Atlantis launched on schedule Monday afternoon on a mission to the International Space Station. Atlantis lifted off from Pad 39B of the Kennedy Space Center at 3:45:51 pm EDT (1945:51 GMT), precisely in the middle of its 10-minute launch window, as planned. There were no problems reported during the countdown, and the shuttle reached orbit without incident. The launch was the first to use a "rocketcam" video camera attached to the upper part of the shuttle’s external tank; the camera returned live video throughout the ascent. The shuttle is scheduled to dock with the ISS Wednesday at 11:29 am EDT (1529 GMT). The main purpose of the STS-112 mission is to install S1, the first starboard segment of the station’s truss. The shuttle will remain docked to the station for seven days; the full mission is scheduled to last 11 days.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list