spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis docks with ISS
Posted: Wed, Oct 9, 2002, 2:38 PM ET (1838 GMT)
STS-112 patch (NASA) The space shuttle Atlantis successfully docked with the International Space Station on schedule Wednesday morning. The shuttle docked with the Destiny module of the station at 11:17 am EDT (1517 GMT) as the two spacecraft flew over western China. Hatches separating the two spacecraft were opened about 90 minutes later. The shuttle will remain docked to the station for a week to carry out its primary task, the installation of the S1 starboard truss segment. The first of three EVAs planned to complete this task is scheduled for Thursday, when astronauts David Wolf and Piers Sellers will make the initial connections between the S0 and S1 truss segments after the stationís Canadarm2 robot arm moves the new truss segment into position.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Delta 4 launches WGS-10 communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)

Soyuz sends crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

NASA considering commercial rockets for EM-1
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 7:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, March 20
Rethinking EM-1, and SLS
The Space Review — 11:16 am ET (1516 GMT)
NASA’s flawed plan to return humans to the Moon
The Space Review — 11:13 am ET (1513 GMT)
Pow, right to the Moon
The Space Review — 11:12 am ET (1512 GMT)
Inmarsat in talks on £2.5bn takeover bid from former owner Apax
The Times of London — 5:54 am ET (0954 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list