spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Report: Soyuz explodes after launch
Posted: Tue, Oct 15, 2002, 5:50 PM ET (2150 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Russian Soyuz booster exploded a half-minute after liftoff late Tuesday on a mission to launch a microgravity research satellite, according to Russian media reports. The Interfax news agency reported that the Soyuz booster exploded 29 seconds after liftoff from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 2:20 pm EDT (1820 GMT). No reason for the failure was given. The Soyuz was carrying the Foton-M1 spacecraft, a microgravity research satellite carrying 44 biology, radiation, and fluid physics experiments from Russia, Europe, and other nations. The failure could have affect plans to launch a Soyuz taxi mission to the International Space Station late this month from Baikonur.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list