spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis undocks from ISS
Posted: Wed, Oct 16, 2002, 2:15 PM ET (1815 GMT)
STS-112 Atlantis undocking from ISS (NASA) The space shuttle Atlantis undocked from the International Space Station on schedule Wednesday morning as the STS-112 mission winds down. Atlantis undocked from the station's Destiny module at 9:13 am EDT (1313 GMT) while the two spacecraft flew over Russia. After moving a short distance away from the station, Atlantis flew partway around the station to perform a visual inspection before moving away for good about two hours after undocking. The undocking was captured on video by a new television camera mounted on the S1 truss segment the Atlantis crew added to the station during the mission; the camera provide a new perspective on the docking not previously seen. Atlantis is scheduled to land at the Kennedy Space Center at 11:45 am EDT (1545 GMT) Friday, with early weather forecasts predicting acceptable weather for landing.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, October 17
Kaptur forms group to back NASA
Sandusky (OH) Register — 8:27 pm ET (0027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list