spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Stardust completes asteroid flyby
Posted: Sun, Nov 3, 2002, 10:05 PM ET (0305 GMT)
Stardust spacecraft illustration (NASA/JPL) NASA's Stardust spacecraft flew by an asteroid late Friday night en route to its main destination. Stardust flew within 3,300 kilometers of the asteroid 5535 Annefrank at 11:50 pm EST Friday (0450 GMT Saturday). According to a JPL status report, the flyby went by without any problems, with the spacecraft tracking the asteroid for 30 minutes during closest approach at a relative speed of seven kilometers a second. Images taken during the Annefrank flyby are being transmitted back to Earth for analysis during the coming week; none have been released yet. NASA planned to use the flyby of Annefrank, a main-belt asteroid about four kilometers across, as a dress rehearsal for the spacecraft's primary mission, a flyby of the comet Wild 2 in January 2004. If all goes well, Stardust will collect samples of dust as it flies by Wild 2 and return them to Earth in 2006.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list