spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Oxygen leak postpones shuttle launch
Posted: Mon, Nov 11, 2002, 8:33 AM ET (1333 GMT)
STS-113 pach (NASA) An oxygen leak discovered only a few hours before launch will delay the flight of the space shuttle Endeavour by at least a week. Late Sunday afternoon engineers discovered a leak in one of two lines that transfer oxygen into the crew cabin. Although one line would likely supply enough oxygen for the crew, concerns that the leak could grow worse forced managers to scrub the launch a little over three hours before the 12:58 am EST (0058 GMT) launch, just as the crew was beginning to board the shuttle. Because the leak is located in plumbing under the payload bay, it will take several days for technicians to access and repair the leak, so NASA has pushed back the launch until Monday, November 18, between 7 and 11 pm EST (0000 and 0400 GMT Tuesday, November 19). Officials cautioned that the delay could be longer if the leak takes longer to reach. A launch on November 18 would set up a landing in Florida on Friday, November 29, the day after Thanksgiving.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list