spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 4 cleared for Tuesday launch
Posted: Tue, Nov 19, 2002, 8:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)
Delta 4 first launch vehicle (Boeing) Boeing announced late Monday that they plan to move ahead with plans to launch the inaugural Delta 4 rocket on Tuesday evening. The launch, previously scheduled for November 16, was delayed three days because of concerns that the RL-10 engine in the Delta 4's upper stage shared a defect found in another RL-10 engine during a recent test firing. A final review confirmed that the engine in the Delta 4 had no problems, and a final launch readiness review on Monday cleared the way for Tuesday's launch. The vehicle is scheduled to lift off from pad 37B at Cape Canaveral at 5:39 pm EST (2239 GMT), at the beginning of a 70-minute launch window. The booster will carry the Eutelsat W5 satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit. The Delta 4 is the second of two vehicles developed under the Air Force's Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle (EELV) program; Lockheed Martin's Atlas 5 made its first flight in August.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list