spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS crew transfer completed
Posted: Wed, Mar 14, 2001, 9:44 AM ET (1444 GMT)
STS-102 logo The complete Expedition Two crew is now aboard the International Space Station after astronaut Susan Helms moved aboard the station early Wednesday. Helms officially transferred from the shuttle Discovery to the station at 1 am EST (0600 GMT) when she moved her custom-fitted seat liner into the Soyuz module docked to the station. She joins Expedition Two commander Yuri Usachev, who moved aboard Saturday, and astronaut James Voss, who moved into the station Monday. Helms replaced Expedition One commander Bill Shepherd, who moved into the shuttle but will officially remain in command of the station until the hatches between the shuttle and station close on Saturday. In the meantime the shuttle and station crews will work to move the remaining supplies and equipment from the Leonardo cargo carrier into the station, and then move 725 kg of trash into the Italian-built module, which will then be undocked to the station and returned to Earth on the shuttle.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list