spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle docks with ISS
Posted: Mon, Nov 25, 2002, 9:05 PM ET (0205 GMT)
STS-113: shuttle docking with ISS (NASA) The space shuttle Endeavour successfully docked with the International Space Station Monday afternoon. Endeavour docked with the Destiny module of ISS at 4:59 pm EST (2159 GMT). The docking took place 33 minutes later than planned because the shuttle took a slow, deliberate approach to the station; no problems with the approach or docking were reported. Hatches between the station and shuttle opened 90 minutes after the docking. The crew plans to spend Monday evening moving equipment from Endeavour to the station, including Soyuz seat liners custom-fitted for the Expedition Six crew arriving at the station on Endeavour. The next major activity is scheduled for Tuesday, when astronauts John Herrington and Michael Lopez-Alegria will perform the first of three EVAs scheduled for the mission, connecting the P1 truss segment to the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 15
First Images from OSIRIS REx Mission Have Scientists Buzzing with Excitement
Univ. of Central Florida — 2:07 pm ET (1907 GMT)
NASA’s First Stellar Observatory, OAO 2, Turns 50
NASA/GSFC — 2:05 pm ET (1905 GMT)
Taming turbulence: Seeking to make complex simulations a breeze
Univ. of Wisconsin — 2:05 pm ET (1905 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list