spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Kosmos launches two satellites
Posted: Thu, Nov 28, 2002, 12:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)
Kosmos-3M file photo (SSC) A Kosmos booster launched two small satellites into low Earth orbit early Thursday. The Kosmos-3M lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 1:07 am EST (0607 GMT) Thursday and placed its payload, AlSat-1 and Mozhayets, into 700-kilometer sun-synchronous orbits. The 90-kg Mozhayets spacecraft, built in part by students of Russia's Mozhaisky Military Space Academy, will be used to test navigation satellite technologies as well as study the effects of radiation exposure on satellite electronics. AlSat-1, also weighing 90 kilograms, was built for the Algerian government by British small satellite manufacturer SSTL. AlSat-1 is the first spacecraft of the Disaster Monitoring Constellation, a network of spacecraft to be built by SSTL for several nations to monitor the environment during natural disasters. Thursday's launch was the fourth this year for the Kosmos-3M.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list