spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle undocks from ISS, deploys satellite
Posted: Mon, Dec 2, 2002, 11:06 PM ET (0406 GMT)
STS-113: ISS after shuttle undocking (NASA) The space shuttle Endeavour undocked from the International Space Station Monday afternoon as the STS-113 mission winds down. The shuttle undocked from ISS at 3:05 pm EST (2005 GMT), two hours after hatches between the two spacecraft closed. Endeavour performed a one-quarter lap around the station before departing the vicinity of ISS about an hour later. Two hours after undocking Endeavour deployed a pair of "picosatellites" called MEPSI developed by the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA). The two spacecraft, attached by a 15-meter tether, are designed to demonstrate technologies to be used on future small spacecraft. Endeavour is scheduled to return to Earth on Wednesday, landing at the Kennedy Space Center at 3:48 pm EST (2048 GMT), although current forecasts call for "questionable" weather for landing attempts both Wednesday and Thursday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Lunar outpost in 5 years? 2 companies unveil plans
My News 13 Orlando — 6:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ULA, Bigelow plan to place inflatable space habitat near moon by 2022
Denver Business Journal — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Virgin Galactic CEO to speak at Dubai Airshow
Arabian Business — 6:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
Elon Musk's 4 Success Mantras From SpaceX And Tesla
Forbes.com — 6:36 am ET (1036 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list