spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle landing delayed for third straight day
Posted: Fri, Dec 6, 2002, 4:40 PM ET (2140 GMT)
STS-113 pach (NASA) NASA delayed the landing of the space shuttle Endeavour for a record-setting third straight day Friday, but shuttle managers said they would bring the orbiter down Saturday in either Florida or California. NASA planned to land Endeavour at the Kennedy Space Center during one of two opportunities Friday, but low clouds over the landing site prompted NASA to keep the shuttle in orbit one more day. The space agency is now planning a landing on Saturday either at KSC or at Edwards Air Force Base in California. There are two landing opportunities at KSC at 2:37 and 4:19 pm EST (1937 and 2119 GMT) as well as two later ones at Edwards at 5:45 and 7:22 pm EST (2245 and 0022 GMT). STS-113 is the first mission to have landing attempts postponed for three straight days. NASA is trying to land the shuttle in Florida to avoid the cost and schedule impacts of a California landing, and to also allow the crew to immediately reunite with their families waiting in Florida. The shuttle has enough propellant to remain in orbit until at least Sunday, if necessary, but weather conditions in both California and Florida should permit a landing in either location Saturday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list